2014 + GRACE = HOPE

So it is the year 2014 and it’s all shiny and new. Every blogger out there will be sitting down with a freshly brewed cup of coffee, starting up their computers and creating their first post of the year.

It will probably start something like this, 2014 Resolutions, Goals for 2014 or 2014 The Year of Promise. Actually that last one doesn’t sound that bad but I have decided that my first post will not be about, how to set goals or my resolution list but simply to broadcast a message of hope.

To be honest at first I thought I knew exactly what my goals were and how I was going to start the year but my 2014 did not start at all the way I had envisioned. Instead it put me off-balance with the plans, goals and God. It was the beginnings of an out of control adventure that made me feeling like Bilbo Baggins in the last scene of The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (A must watch) and left me asking myself ‘What have I done?’.

I sought the counsel of a great friend and in her great wisdom and know-it-all-dom she said something so profound, so earth shattering and yet so simple. She said it’s not how you start but how you finish.

Words layered with wisdom and grace. Words that quickly put things in perspective for me. Words that brought and I pray that will continue to bring me back to the truth, that it does not matter how you start because there is grace to start again. That it is okay to fail because God is always willing to forgive you and let you try again and that there is new life in Him and it’s yours, if you want it.

These words that remind me of Proverbs 19:21 ‘There are many plans in a man’s heart, Nevertheless the Lord’s counsel—that will stand.’ and 2 Cor 5:17 ‘Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new.’

So remember, it’s not how you start but how you finish.

Published by

Nathan L Simons

Young, free, creative and on fire - because of Jesus.

Leave a Reply

